All about Pradhan Mantri yojana and other government schemes in India.

National Sports Awards -2019 announced Bajrang Punia and Deepa Malik to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

National Sports Awards -2019 announced Bajrang Punia and Deepa Malik to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Posted On: 20 AUG 2019 by PIB Delhi

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year, Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years, Dronacharya Award for coaches is given for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events.Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel ProtsahanPuruskar are given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given MaulanaAbulKalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year (2019), which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Sport Journalists/Experts/Commentators and Sports Administrators. Selection Committee for the Sports Awards 2019 was headed by Justice Mukundakam Sharma, Retired Judge, Supreme Court.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons, coaches, entities and university:


S.No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
1Sh. Bajrang PuniaWrestling
2Ms. Deepa MalikPara Athletics


Regular Category

S.No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
1Sh. Vimal KumarBadminton
2Sh. Sandeep GuptaTable tennis
3Sh. Mohinder Singh DhillonAthletics

Life-Time Category

S.No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
1Sh. Merzban PatelHockey
2Sh. Rambir Singh KhokharKabaddi
3Sh. Sanjay BhardwajCricket


S.No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
1Sh. Tajinderpal Singh ToorAthletics
2Mohammed Anas YahiyaAthletics
3Sh. S. BhaskaranBody Building
4Ms. Sonia LatherBoxing
5Sh. Ravindra JadejaCricket
6Sh. Chinglensana Singh KangujamHockey
7Sh. Ajay ThakurKabaddi
8Sh. Gaurav Singh GillMotor Sports
9Sh. Pramod BhagatPara Sports (Badminton)
10Ms. Anjum MoudgilShooting
11Sh. Harmeet Rajul DesaiTable Tennis
12Ms. Pooja DhandaWrestling
13Sh. Fouaad MirzaEquestrian
14Sh. Gurpreet Singh SandhuFootball
15Ms. Poonam YadavCricket
16Ms. Swapna BarmanAthletics
17Sh. Sundar Singh GurjarPara Sports  (Athletics)
18Sh. Bhamidipati Sai PraneethBadminton
19Sh. Simran Singh ShergillPolo


1.  Sh. Manuel FredricksHockey
2.  Sh. Arup BasakTable Tennis
3.  Sh. Manoj KumarWrestling
4.  Sh. NittenKirrtaneTennis
5.  Sh. C. LalremsangaArchery



(F) MAULANA ABUL KALAM AZAD (MAKA) TROPHY, 2019: Panjab University, Chandigarh

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on 29th August, 2019.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each. A trophy and citation is given to the entity in the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2019. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.

Source: PIB



Post a Comment

We are not the official website and are not linked to any Government or Ministry. All the posts published here are for information purpose only. Please do not treat as official website and please don't disclose any personal information here.

Copyright © 2015 Prime Minister's Schemes प्रधानमंत्री योजना. All rights reserved.


Copyright © Prime Minister's Schemes प्रधानमंत्री योजना | Powered by Blogger Design by ronangelo | Blogger Theme by